Tom Wilkinson

Home // Unsettled | Our Community // Profiles // Tom Wilkinson

Homebase:
I moved to Ann Arbor (home of the University of Michigan in the US) for college in 1967 and never quite got organized to leave town permanently after I graduated. I have been away for a few years at a time for jobs; living in Baltimore, Chicago, and the San Francisco area. My goal is to be home for maybe six months out of the year, so I can travel the rest of the time.

Unsettled destination:
Thailand Sailing & Medellin 

What do you do for work?
I started out as a software developer and wrote part of the original code for SPSS (for you social science majors). When I realized there was no future in IT, I became a survey research methodologist. I ran my own survey research firm for 20 years, but now work for a non-profit health systems research organization. A few years ago, I got a degree in health policy, which helps in health survey design. Most recently, I’ve been working on a study of PTSD for the Veterans Administration and on a survey of American’s attitudes on organ donation. I’m turning 70 this year, so I’ve cut my work schedule back to three days per week to give me more flexibility to travel.

What makes you feel most alive?
Well, the obvious answer is coffee of course. Beyond that, I could say that it is something like watching sunrises over faraway mountain ranges, but actually what makes me feel most alive is sitting in some little street café in a new city, watching the locals go about their lives, and pretending I live there.

What does adventure mean to you?